The implementing texts of the structural reform of decentralization (…)

Written by admin

The government adopted this Wednesday, June 1, 2022 in the Council of Ministers, 04 decrees of application of the structural reform on the sector of decentralization.

The first two, according to the Council of Ministers, carry out a formal classification of municipalities according to special, intermediate or ordinary statutes, then organize in an exhaustive manner the criteria for categorizing them, as well as providing for a ten-year periodicity for their valuation for discounting purposes. Thus, are classified in the category “municipalities with special status”, those whose population is at least 200,000 inhabitants and which have mobilized, over a period of three consecutive years, own resources amounting to one billion CFA francs. at least.

Communes with intermediate status are categorized either by their status as departmental capital; or a population of at least 100,000 inhabitants and have mobilized consecutively over the three years preceding the year of evaluation, own resources amounting to 500,000,000 FCFA; or have played a leading role in the history of Benin.

Local authorities that do not meet these criteria are classified in the category of “ordinary status municipalities”, specifies the Council of Ministers.

The two other decrees adopted by the government set the general framework of the internal regulations of the municipal councils; then the terms and conditions of delegation of powers and signature of the mayor to the executive secretary.

www.24haubenin.bj; real-time information

June 1, 2022 by F. Aubin Ahéhéhinnou

Source link

About the author


Leave a Comment